index
archives
random
hyperbole & 1/2
design

diaryland

01.03.08

Hooray! It's the..

2007 year in review

So I'm still pretty much stuck in the same position I was last year at this time. Wanting a new job, having no faith in myself, and procrastinating. But, that certainly doesn't mean I haven't changed. I have. And maybe 2008 is the year of the job. I'm really not that worried. The world still turns. Let's talk about what I did instead of getting this fabled, life-changing new job, though..

Business Classes
Yes! I actually did something to try and further myself. I signed up for these "business classes", which I should rather call a seminar. In any case, they didn't help much. It just made me less confident in myself and that much more lost.

Death of the Shadow
I loved that car. I really made the best of a bad situation. The sun-roof leaked so I wanted to grow grass in the center console. Only two speakers worked, so I turned them all the way up. No heat, I just bundled up. The outside was a wreck, so I covered it with chalkboard paint and it went from being awesome, to SUPER AWESOME. I only got a few months of chalky fun before its demise. I wrote a goodbye note to it on the inside of the door jam and I cried like a bitch as I watched my turbo chalkboard baby get dragged onto the tow and drive away.

Birth of the Nissan
The big, clunky, slow grandma car. I hate it. But it runs, and it gets me where I need to be. Next.

Horsey Ride
I rode on a NYC horse carriage for the first time this year. This was the same night I went to the city to see Daniel Johnston perform, with Bing. Who I really like.

Stuck in Pennsyltucky
My big vacation of 2007 was driving about half way across the state of Pennsylvania to spend an extended weekend in the middle of nowhere. This is when my distaste for Brian, my boyfriend at the time, had really begun to swing in. I tried to have a good time, and there were fun moments, but I much rather would have stayed in Jersey and not gone at all.

MP3 Experiment IV
It's addicting. This time I brought along a bunch of friends for Improv Everywhere's yearly MP3 Experiment. We were running late, as usual, so at the designated time we all switched on our players on the train to keep in sync. We ran through the trade center complex trying to catch up to a group of about 800 people. It was hot, it was sweaty and it was fun. It never gets old. I can't wait for next year.

Man Jumps off Staten Island Ferry
This is more of an afterthought. This is a two-in-one deal. As we were winding down from the MP3 Experiment, we all took the ferry. Well, almost all of us. I hear a scream and look over to see a splash in the water. Someone. Jumped. Off. The. Ferry. It was wild. I want to see it again.

Brian and I Split
I don't really know what to say here. So many things changed. You could say we grew apart. You could say I wasn't getting what I needed. You could say I found someone else. You could say that things just haven't been the same since he broke my heart first. You could say I was just staying in the relationship out of pity and out of comfort. You could say all these things and be right.

Bing
Oh, Bing. Where to begin? The whole thing is like a fairytale on crack. Terribly rough around the edges, but still so sweet. And when we got together everyone exclaimed "I knew it!". Apparently, our electric attraction to one another was visible to the naked eye. He is so much fun, and really very sweet. And I am so happy right now.

back - forth