index
archives
random
hyperbole & 1/2
design

diaryland

05.31.09

Somehow we got to talking about beheading. He said to me that during the french revolution, when the guillotine was used a lot, they would sometimes take the head and lift it to see it's own headless body behind them. The head would appear to scream and make spasms at the sight.

Okay, is it weird or is it just me that I am SO taken by this and I SO want to see it. I did some research (i.e. saw wikipedia) and found this bit:

waited for several seconds. The spasmodic movements ceased. [...] It was then that I called in a strong, sharp voice: 'Languille!' I saw the eyelids slowly lift up, without any spasmodic contractions [...] Languille's eyes very definitely fixed themselves on mine and the pupils focused themselves. I was not, then, dealing with the sort of vague dull look without any expression, that can be observed any day in dying people to whom one speaks: I was dealing with undeniably living eyes which were looking at me.


How fucking awesome.

back - forth