index
archives
random
hyperbole & 1/2
design

diaryland

10.4.06

It had almost been as if I was not even sleeping. My eyes opened immediately after the stereo noise reached my ears. I got up and hit the power button. Stretched the kind of stretch where I spread my my arms out like a bird and nearly fall over my toes. Trying not to act like a giddy schoolgirl, I casually look out the window to see what sort of day my birthday will bring me.

I travel down the stairs, and my eyes track the dining room table, the official "present" spot. I don't know what i'm expecting really, if anything. I see a single peice of white paper. Must be a note to mail something for mom, I think.

When I get within reading distance I see its a print out, dated late last night, confirming my car registration is paid. The bottom half is ripped off and scribbled in red pen is "Happy Birthday Val".

Happy birthday. This is the same thing she did last year. I don't want to sound pompous, but I've got the money to pay my car registration. I wish you'd have spent just 5 minutes of your time to get a card for me, at the gas station convenience store even. They have those there, right?

5 minutes into being 22 and I am already disappointed. I better put my uniform in the dryer if I don't want to wear a soggy green polo today. Yeah, I'm working on my birthday again this year.

At the restaurant no one said anything to me, when I looked up into their eyes expecting some sort of emotion, they were blank and tired. Just another Tuesday. Put out the ketchups, push in the chairs, brew the coffee. I almost wanted to tell all my tables that it was my birthday, but I held back for fear of seeming pathetic and attention starved.

When the lunch rush was over I quietly said goodbye and got in my car. I told the girls at the office that even though I was working at the restaurant that i'd stop by. I told them my birthday was coming up too, and I knew they'd remember.

But it almost seemed too late at that point. The trademark creak of the glass door let them know I was there and immediately I heard "Happy Birthday!". It's a shame I couldn't have been happier for them. I went over to my desk and caught a glimpse of something bright and shiny in Dani's office. I got two balloons that bounced happily in the air. They bought cupcakes and they were waiting 'til I got there to eat them. "Let's crack this bitch open", she said, "but make sure he doesn't get any", her head flicked sideways in the direction of Lane's office.

I was trying to lose weight so I could be sexy for Brian's upcoming birthday but I couldn't dismiss my own cupcakes so I grabbed one and licked the icing as I sat down at my makeshift desk. Wow, being 22 is even more pathetic than I expected.

back - forth