index
archives
random
hyperbole & 1/2
design

diaryland

10.30.06

The room was dark save for the glow of the glass liquor shelves. We sat underneath the ledge amongst the creaky wooden floorboards and kneecaps of those who were wandering the room looking to get away from the noise of the stage. Bass strings and drum beats vibrated the wall on our backs. I was pretty excited about seeing Dub is a Weapon but now that they were on, something fell flat. I just wasn't feeling it. "Do you want to floor hop?", I asked him. We got up and out into the hallway. Excuse me, Pardon me. We went to the second floor, where Ruder than You was playing. I loved it.

After the crowd had traveled to the main stage Brian and I caught up with some people at the bombtown merch table. The walls muffled sounnds of cheers and saxaphone blasts as the Toasters came on to play. It didn't take much coercing before Richie had his sweatshirt off and was in the crowd. I've only been to a few 3 floors at the Knitting Factory but it's very sentimental to me. Right in the middle of that crowd, right in the middle of that circle, I own it.

The walk back to the World Trade Center path station was a chilly one and we kept ourselves busy by having speedwalking races. Brian won. We ended up at the Linden House Diner right around the time the clocks were changing.

"I'm glad i'm doing this", I told him in the car. "I'm glad I have this community and I can look back on this later in life." And we slip back into reality until the next fairytale get together.

back - forth