index
archives
random
hyperbole & 1/2
design

diaryland

11.22.06

She leaned over the cubicle wall and murmured to me. "Huh?",I asked. "Do you want to treat me to an Italian hot dog?", she repeated.

Not particularly, no.

"No..i'm not ordering lunch today. I already ate." "Oh you did? What did you have?"

What does it matter?

"I had a salad before I came in". "Oh", she replied, clearly disappointed. I was still swimming in my puddle of disbelief. Do I want to treat you?

And with that she walked to every office door and asked if they wanted to order. I smirked a little when everyone declined. Not to be defeated, she advised that she was going to walk to the store. Chad wanted a green tea, and handed her probably way more than enough, knowing him.

"Can I borrow 3 dollars?",s he returns to my desk before heading out.

Are you serious right now??

Pursing my lips, I reached into my bag for my wallet. I knew well that I probably had atleast 80 dollars on me, but I told her I didn't even know if I had any. "I'm really wiped out from the party", I added. All she could give me was an "Oh", and left for the store.

Why don't you just open a fucking checking account with me? You borrowed 100 dollars from me just under a week ago. ONE HUNDRED DOLLARS. What did you spend it on? You don't have three measly dollars left from it?

So this is what happens to the good people. We get taken advantage of. I have to learn to say no. The worst part was that you just assumed a) i had the money b) id' give it to you.

I'm not working two jobs to support you.

I really need to distance myself from needy people. This includes Kim, who has been absolutely psychotic since she's been in therapy. I don't know what her deal is. I can only hope that one day she knows what its like to have a stable relationship that you have to maintain. I don't know if she's jealous or selfish.

Do they have a pill for that?

back - forth