index
archives
random
hyperbole & 1/2
design

diaryland

01.09.07

So apparently I am an endless source of entertainment when extremely drunk at the restaurant holiday party. I sure wish I could remember what I did.

The next day I awoke at exactly 12 noon. I dry heaved a little bit in the shower, and got myself ready to go stand out on the corner.

The air was still and I think the trees were trying to decide whether to live or die because the mid-winter warmth was starting to give way to bitter chills. I watched the same lonely police officer pass by me twice before I decided to move out to a different bus stop. Believe it or not this 2 mile town actually has a "quieter", less busy area and I happen to live in it.

I hoofed out to the "front" of town, where I knew the bus definitly came by. The same stupid cop now passed by me standing at this new bus stop and all I could do was just look up at the grey clouds breaking to blue skies. I just had to look somewhere else so as not to make eye contact. I hated standing there on display, the loser who needs to take the bus.

I was pretty much the only passenger until I got to my next stop. The wind had picked up and was now sprinting in circles around the city block. I stood in a doorway to a naughty lingerie store and rubbed my arms to keep warm. the next bus in direct route to work was much more crowded and I sat in the middle listening to some teenagers talk about their day. It made me feel old.

Still, theres something about public transporation that I like. Yeah, the waiting sucks, but its not so bad. Atleast you can relax when you are traveling. When you drive, you need to all pay attention and shit. I'm sure one could read a lot of books. And smarts are good.

back - forth